I've got 1 year to write a scientific paper about palatal expansion (narrowmouthcels GTFIH)

LuchsMaxxer

LuchsMaxxer

8 BSL 45"
Im 19 years old. I'm in my last year of school. In my country (west Europe, so you know its a decent school), a part of every students final grade is a scientific paper, that we have to write within the next 10-11 months.

I want to look further into palatal expansion, since its something that interests me and I also want to study dental medicine after I've finished school. The exact goal of my work would be to determine the aesthtetic changes to a human face after palatel Expansion trough 1) Palate Expander 2) SARPE 3) MSE.

I have seen many people on here claim that palate expander changes a persons face and particularly their lips. However, from everything that I have read, this barely seems to be the case. Plus its highely questionable that an orthodontist would agree to expand someones palate when it isn't narrow to beginn with (or the patient doesn't have a crossbite, crowded teeth, or some other issue).

If some users could give me their opinions on this or even talk about their experience with palate expander It would be really helpful. Is palate expander a meme? Does it widen the mouth? Your experience? Have you read or found any decent studys or before and after pictures?

Important: If you can help me with this i will upload my entire findings when im done with my paper.
Since I will invest almost a year into this and I have a high interest in delivering good work (since its a big part of my final grade) naturally it will be extremely high effort and I believe it will help the forum and some users on here, especially narrowmouthcels like me.

• +1
  • Love it
  • Woah
Reactions: ASM5, polishcel, Deleted member 32485 and 8 others